Christine Lund

christinelund.jpg 

The job I had as a security guard at the Prospect Lot, which was known as ABC’s Television Center had me all over the lot.  I mentioned earlier, it was on about the third day on the job that I met John Travolta, who wanted me to watch his candy apple red Vette while he went out for a drive with Christine Lund in her brown 280Z.  That was the first of many times I met Christine Lund.  Again, it was in the parking lot and in the many newsroom related areas.  She was always very nice to me.  But since this was so long ago, I don’t know if she would remember the day she and John went off together in that 280Z.  Since originally posting this, I’ve had more views on this than any other post.  It seems like everyone wants to know the latest news on L.A.’s favoriite newswoman.  Replies to the post indicate she’s in our 49th state.  I never did hear how the drive with John went, but if I ever do hear from her, Alaska.  (sorry…it was just too easy)

Now, I have to say here that I also met Bill Van Amburg as well, and even though I don’t have a picture of him, I do have a channel 7 eyewitness news pin…a 7 in a circle that Bill gave me.

Celebrities I’ve Met Podcast – Christine Lund

29 Responses to Christine Lund

  1. Don Cinquemani says:

    Where is Christine Lund now?

    Don

  2. I’ve long since moved away from the Los Angeles area. I was just lucky enough to come across this picture on the web. But, I bet wherever she is now, she doesn’t have that Brown 280Z any more.

  3. Margaret says:

    I just came back from visiting Alaska. Christine Lund lives on Baranoff Island and is the only resident who lives there yer round. She also operates a very small general store, the only one found at Baranoff Warm Springs, Alaska.

  4. I guess that would answer the question I had on the 280Z. She’d need an SUV at the very least for living up there year round. But, it would still be nice to find out more about that ride with John Travolta. 🙂

  5. Charles Jefferson says:

    Do you know how old Christine Lund is?

  6. Jim says:

    Cool. It’s fascinating how I used to watch her on the new, now she is there with the store. INeresting. Also, It’s interesting to see how most of the news anchors don’t last too long. I mean after only about 15 years more or less, what happens to all the news anchors? I guess being a news anchor has is not meant to be too long. Only a few last long.

    thanks.

  7. Jim says:

    Did John Travolta and Christine Lund date?

  8. Dean says:

    Yes, they did. At least that one time that I know of because I saw them leave together in HER car while I stood watch over his.

  9. Marc Bazell says:

    I was reviewing some old TV GUIDE’s that I’ve kept over the past years and happened to catch a glimpse of the CH 7 EYEWITNESS NEWS team write up of AUG 22, 1978. I became curious as to whatever happened to the likes of Christine Lund and others such as Ted Dawson (sports) Dr. George (my favorite weatherman), the late Jerry Dunphy who I believe worked with Chicago’s greatest and best known anchor on WBKB then WLS ABC Fahey Flynn (195?-late 70’s), Paul Moyer now at KNBC CH 4 L.A., Ann Martin now at KCBS/KCAL L.A., and so many more that made up LA’s finest TV journalists. I’m glad to know that Christine Lund is enjoying her retired life up there in AK and hope she is well.

  10. eric mills says:

    Hello –

    I’ve been trying to get in touch with Ms. Lund for some time now. She did a great expose of Mexican-style rodeos (“charreadas”) about a dozen years ago for KABC TV, which helped greatly in passing the state legislation banning “horse tripping,” which i sponsored. We were corresponding at the time, but not since.

    Anybody have a mailing address or phone number for her? (The Info Operator was no help.) Or maybe ask her to contact me?

    Thanks,
    Eric Mills, coordinator
    ACTION FOR ANIMALS
    Oakland, CA
    e-mail – afa@mcn.org
    tel. 510/652-5603

  11. gay lynn says:

    Other Brother,
    We must know one another since I also worked at the Prospect lot at the time you mention! I used to park in Christine’s parking spot -with her permission – before her office hours began (although, with chagrin, I admit sometimes forgetting the time and not moving my car before her arrival!!! She was always most forgiving and gracious!)
    Having worked closely with the news people, and experiencing John Travolta and cast while ‘taping’ the “Welcome Back Kotter” show, I feel qualified to add that the ride in the “Z” would not be considered a “date” between the two, nor a moment in time that she would forget.
    I have one of those circle 7 ‘pins,’ too( (a ‘branding tool’ of ‘Eyewitness News’); but I believe you mean head of sales/later VP/GM TOM Van Amburg (following John Severino: “There’s More To Life Than News, Weather & Sports”) gifted yours to you?
    Where from LA did You move??
    :0)
    gay lynn

  12. I probably do know you. Although, I usually only saw Christine around the building, or at the gate. From other replies here, Christine appears to be in Alaska now.

    I remember that it may have been Bill VanAmburg, there was a son Bill, I think…but it may be Tom…actually the last time I saw the then reporter Mr. V, I was posted as a guard at a bank on Vermont and Santa Monica when a guy came in threatening to blow the place up with 20 pounds of dynamite. That was in March of 83, and Bill(Tom) was one of the reporters who was outside the bank as the FBI hurled me 2 1/2 blocks away just before the guy gave up, after the PCP he was on wore off.

    I’ve actually been a few places since the 70’s… NJ, CA again, NJ, UT, and have been in VA since late 1998.

  13. Jud says:

    I went to high school with Christine Lund. Although I never had the chance to tell her in person, she actually saved my life at time when I was going through some life-threatening periods. We had study hall together and after when we were in college her letters reflected how much she admired my sense (although dry) of humor. That same sense of humor does not translate well in e-mails, however. I was in AK tring to do some much needed writing on my new book and I just wanted to have dinner with her. This resulted in a stalking complaint. After 30 years in law and 8 years in politics, I handled the complaint with no prob since stalking is not a favorite pasttime of mine. It stung but she will always be a hero to me. Christine is not a woman to be forgotten. I watched her career from afar and was always in the cheering section. She was and is a great writer, journalist and role model. I will always wish her the best. I am happy she has found a place where she can just be herself. Humm, a 280Z and JT? You go girl!

    • Willard says:

      Who are you ? We lived across the street from Christine’s Parents, Helge and Helga in Wildwood. We remember Christine. I sent her a letter today. Care of, the Barnof General Store. We hope to hear from her. She was a nice person as were her parents.The last time we saw her parent was when they were living in a home she provided for them next to her home in L A. Our Sir name is Clauser, Willard and Barbara.

  14. Angela says:

    I worked with Chris at KABC TV during the 80’s…She’s a doll. I’ll look her up when I go back to Alaska.
    Angela

  15. Hilary says:

    When I attended UCLA in 1972, I audited a broadcast journalism class taught by Joseph Benti, an anchor at KABC and former Moscow correspondent for CBS News. Anyway, he and Christine lived together for a time, seemed quite smitten w/ one another — they both smoked like chimneys! She was gorgeous and I NEVER saw her as a dumb blonde! Benti later married a KCBS reporter named Patti Ecker, and they had twins.
    I also went to school w/ Joanne Ishimine, who was a local KABC anchor for a long time… she, too, has since disappeared…

  16. berita terbaru 2011…

    […]Christine Lund « Celebrities I’ve Met[…]…

  17. mc-nudes says:

    mc-nudes…

    […]Christine Lund « Celebrities I’ve Met[…]…

  18. hack says:

    hack…

    […]Christine Lund « Celebrities I’ve Met[…]…

  19. apple says:

    apple…

    […]Christine Lund « Celebrities I’ve Met[…]…

  20. columbus electricians…

    […]Christine Lund « Celebrities I’ve Met[…]…

  21. samsung Flachbildschirm…

    […]Christine Lund « Celebrities I’ve Met[…]…

  22. insaniquarium cheats…

    […]Christine Lund « Celebrities I’ve Met[…]…

  23. Network consuling, computer consulting, network and computer consulting, computer and network consulting…

    […]Christine Lund « Celebrities I’ve Met[…]…

  24. Michael says:

    I also watched Christine for years in L.A. Sounds strange that she felt it necessary to move to such a remote area to find peace and quiet. I guess the public drives these people crazy after a while. It must take a special person to put up with it for life, never being able to go out in public without being noticed etc. If you see this Christine I hope you understand how many people truly admired you.
    Michael

  25. celebs says:

    Hi there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due to no backup.
    Do you have any solutions to protect against hackers?

  26. Bill Long says:

    My sources tell me she has been living in Alaska. Even when she was working in L.A. she had a place for her family there. That was where she always went when she went away.

  27. Boom Beach says:

    Just desire to say your article is as surprising.
    The clarity in your post is just excellent and i can assume you are
    an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.

    Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

  28. Great internet site! It looks really good! Maintain the good job!

Leave a Reply

