Welcome Back, Kotter cast members

kottercast.jpg 

I was living on the East side of Hollywood and was told that there were openeings for security guards at the Prospect Lot of ABC TV.  I eventually got the job there and among the sets in production was Welcome Back, Kotter.

On the third day on the job I was working the East Gate and two cars pulled up, a red Corvette and a Brown 280Z.  John Travolta parked the Vette next to the guard shack and came in.  As soon as he made it through the door, his eyes got real big and with a confused tone he asked, “Ron, what are YOU doing here?” I said, “My name’s not Ron, it’s Dean.”  He said I was a dead ringer for Ron Palillo, who worked with him and played Horshack.

After we settled the confusion, he said he was going out for a drive with Christine Lund, the local news anchor for channel 7 in LA.  If you asked me then or now, I’d say HE had the better car, but he still wanted to try hers out.

I eventually met Gabriel Kaplan (Mr. Kotter), John Sylvester White (Mr. Woodman), Marcia Strassman (Mrs. Kotter), Laurence Hilton-Jacobs(Freddie “Boom-Boom” Washington), Robert Heyges(Juan Epstein), as well as John Travolta (Vinny Babarino) and Ron Palillo (Arnold Horshack).  Horshack and I looked so much alike, even the director confused the two of us on occasion.  For the time I was there, it was more of a working relationship, an association, not exactly a friendship.

CelebritiesIveMetPodcast-WelcomeBackKotterCast

3 Responses to Welcome Back, Kotter cast members

  1. 3catsmeow4me says:

    Welcome to the world of blogging. WOW, you have met a lot of interesting people.

  2. autumn says:

    Your lucky you met John Travolta before me..cause if I had met him first I would have run away with him ha ha

  3. Let’s see if he responds here. If he does, we can both run away with him….deal?

Leave a Reply

